Semper Mores Boni



Anti Assassins

W

Lancashire Royals



West Park RUFC

Kick Off—2:00pm

Tuesday 27th December 2022



Anti Assassins RUFC 2022-2023

President: Peter Hughes BEM

Vice President – Gill Burns MBF

Hon Secretary – Paul Weare

Hon Treasurer - Andrew Gardiner

Director of Rugby - John Greenwood

Representative on Lancashire County RFU – Phil Mahon

Membership Secretary – Paul Billington

Kit Manager - Roly Heptonstall

Committee Members – Greg Nicholls, Stuart Oliver and Jack Weare

Welcome from the President of the Anti-Assassins

On behalf of the Anti Assassins it gives me great pleasure to welcome you all to West Park Rugby Club today. Whether you are a Lancashire Royals player, official or supporter I hope you enjoy a convivial welcome.

To the Anti Assassins Squad I would like to thank you all for representing this proud



opponents do. Sincere thanks must also go to the match officials, Henry Pearson, our referee and his assistants running the touch Dan Cook and Tim Brown. They work so hard to ensure we all enjoy the game. Also thanks to our hosts here at West

Park for entertaining our squads, courtesy of our Sponsor

porters enjoy the day as much as our Lancashire Royals

At this time of year it is wonderful to enjoy some social rugby which is highly competitive but played in the true spirit of the game.

I hope you all have a memorable afternoon and I would like to send you very best wishes for 2023

Peter Hughes BEM

M.J. Worsley & Sons.

President

www.anti-assassinsrugby.co.uk



Anti Assassins

1. Jack Kelly West Park

2. Tom Williams West Park

3. Joe Randa Waterloo

4. Paul Arnold West Park

5. Connor Scrivens Blackburn

6. Cameron Railton Waterloo

7. Tom Tindall Waterloo

8. Jack Weare Waterloo

9. Darren Wilson West Park

10. James Ratcliffe Waterloo

11. Luke Harrison Hawcoat Park

12. Ellis Wolstencroft Thornton Cleveleys

13. Patrick Selkirk Doncaster Phoenix

14. Scott Jordan Rossendale

15. Jack Calveley Southport

16. Tom Hampson Wigan

17. Joe Crompton Thornton Cleveleys

18. Ayrton Campbell Rochdale

19. Richard Loveday Broughton Park

20. Ryan Morgan West Park

21. Toby Harrison Fylde

22. Jonathan Roberts Chester

Director of Rugby John Greenwood

Kit Manager Roland Heptonstall



Lancashire Royals

Oliver Berry West Park
 John Hodgkinson Wigan
 Mike Ashdown Bolton

4. Chris Halll Liverpool St Helens

5. Jonti Wilson Aspull
6. Jake Bennett Ormskirk

7. Matty Ledson Liverpool Collegiate

8. Scott Murphy Tyldesley

9. Nathan Fisher Ormskirk

10. Kurt Gledhill Thornton Cleveleys

11. Louis Molyneux Aspull
12. Liam Hill West Park
13. Sam Firth Heaton Moor

14. Jack McFarlane Thornton Cleveleys

15. Ross Hayden Bolton

16. Dominic Anderson Chorley 17. Jack Burden Leigh 18. Craig Meadwell Wigan 19. Adam Lewis **Tyldesley** 20. RConnor Orrell **Bolton** 21. Wayne Bullough Wigan 22. Danny Green **West Park** 23. David Adebo **Heaton Moor**

24. Pete McKeown Liverpool Collegiate

25. Chris Ramwell Vale of Lune

Chairman of Selectors: Howard Hughes
Lead Coach: Martin Scott
Assistant Coach: Chris Marsh
Physio: Jack Oliver
Manager: Dickie Buckley

Anti-Assassins of Yesteryear



The current A-As' President refereeing Stonyhurst College v Anti-Assassins in 1967.



Barry Jackson, (Broughton Park, Lancashire and England) far right is in support of the ball carrier, Mike Hindle, (Fylde and Lancashire), with Terry Horrocks, (Fylde), arriving on the scene. A young John O'Driscoll, (later Manchester, Lancashire, Ireland and British & Irish Lions) is in the background, playing for Stonyhurst.

The Anti-Assassins Rugby Union Football Club (A-As) was founded in 1950 when three Old Sedberghians, all members of Bury RUFC, Stewart Faulds, Geoff and Arthur Kenyon, were invited to pick a Northern team to play against the masters and Old Boys (The Assassins) of Sedbergh School, Cumbria. This invitation team carried on playing a variety of fixtures, mainly in the North, helping to develop rugby football at leading schools, celebrating special club occasions and raising money for established charities. 'Semper Mores Boni', (Good Behaviour Always), is the motto of the club!!

As the Game has changed, the A-As have modified their programme. Initially they played against the 1st XVs of independent schools in the North, such as Sedbergh, Rossall and Stonyhurst, with current Internationals occasionally playing against the schoolboys and always passing on coaching tips over a half-pint of shandy. When the Game went professional in 1995 and players were contracted to their clubs, it became more difficult for current representative players to turn out for invitation sides. At the turn of the century, when regulations forbade adults to play against under-age players, the A-As changed to playing against Old Boys' teams of schools such as Giggleswick and Kirkham as well as the Oxbridge sides.

One of the main priorities of the A-As' committee, led by the legendary Monsieur le President Stewart Faulds for 48 years, was to arrange tours to rugby playing locations all over the world. In the amateur days, the A-As visited Australia, Canada, East Africa, South Africa and USA, amongst other countries. Local destinations over the water included Galway, the Isle of Man, Jersey and Ulster and tours were also undertaken to European countries such as France, Holland, Italy and Spain. During the last couple of decades the regular travels abroad have been to participate in Sevens or Tens tournaments. These have included visits to Trinidad for the Caribbean Sevens; Dubai for the International Tens which was part of the World Rugby Sevens; Madrid; Stockholm and more recently to the Ibiza Tens. Plans are in hand to visit Bulgaria in summer 2024 and Cyprus summer 2025.

With its origins at Sedbergh School, the club has always maintained a close relationship with that renowned rugby-playing school — Alma Mater of Lord Wavell Wakefield of Kendal, John Spencer and Will Carling all Captains of England. The club initially played an annual fixture against the school but when regulations changed, this fixture was succeeded by the Old Sedberghians which is now traditionally played on the second Sunday of term for the Stewart Faulds Cup.

Past A-As' players include over one hundred internationals, sixteen England captains and three England captains. An invitation to represent the A-As has delighted many players, be they just good community club members or seasoned Internationals, over the last seven decades. Long may the A-As continue to allow the young men of today the opportunity to share our game with players from different clubs and enjoy the camaraderie of non-competitive matches in the United Kingdom or overseas.

The A-As thank Lancashire County RFU oficials for the arrangements; West Park RUFC for the use of their facilities and club stalwart and Past President Lancashire County RFU Malcolm Worsley for his generous sponsorship. We wish you all a Peaceful and Prosperous New Year.

Peter Hughes (President A-As) December 2022