MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF LANCASHIRE COUNTY RUGBY FOOTBALL UNION LTD

HELD AT TYLDESLEY RUGBY UNION FOOTBALL CLUB TYLDESLEY

ON WEDNESDAY 22nd JUNE 2022

At the meeting of individual members, the two current representatives to the Extraordinary General Meeting , C Smail and Ian Scott Brown were re elected .

Ken Andrews opened the meeting as Gill Burns had been delayed in traffic but was hoping to be there shortly. There was a minute silence for Noel Atkinson and Alan Farmer who had recently passed away.

Apologies for Absence:

Steve Blackburn, Dave Hodgson, Alex Speed, David Thompson, Thomas Rochford, Steve Rigby, Rod Moore, Ernie Haynes, Dan Hardy, Tim Stirk, John Dewhurst, Alan Marsland, Phil Mahon, Colin Hilton, Mike Dale, Neil Sinclair, Margaret Chapell, John Greenwood, Kate Bennatta, Frank Morgan.

The minutes of the previous AGM and were on the website.

There were no comments or questions relating to the minutes of the previous AGM.

1. Annual Report.

This had been circulated and was available to view on the website. There were no comments or questions.

- 1. Election of Officers:
- a) **President**

As Gill had been delayed the incoming President, Mr Brian Stott, was introduced by Lancashire Chairman, Dave Clarke who read out a message from Gill. Gill would do the official presentation of the badge when she arrived.

Brian Stott then took over to Chair the meeting.

b) Senior Vice President

Carol Baker became the Senior Vice President and was introduced by Brian Stott. Carol has been the Safeguarding Lead in Lancashire for many years, she accepted the role and said that she was proud to do so and looked forward to helping Brian in his year as President.

c) Chairman

Dave Clarke is in post until 2023

d) Honorary Treasurer

Paul Deakin Management Board Proposal.

e) **Honorary Secretary**

2. Election Of Directors

a) **Director of Rugby Development**

Howard Hughes Management Board Proposal

b) Director of Club and Community

Malcolm Worsley Management Board Proposal

c) Director of Governance

Carol Baker Management Board Proposal

d) **Director of Volunteering**

Gill Burns MBE Management Board Proposal

e) Three Directors without Portfolio

John Greenwood Management Board Proposal

Tommy Hughes Management Board Proposal

Gary Morgan Management Board Proposal

3. Appointment of Independent Examiners.

ERC nominated by Paul Deakin. Seconded by Stephen Briers.

4. Election of

a) Assistant Honorary Secretary

Brian Stott Management Board Proposal.

b) Assistant Honorary Treasurer

Stephen Briers Management Board Proposal.

c) Vice Presidents

Mark Nelson

Carol Baker SVP

John Greenwood

Alan James

Brian Hurst

5. Nominations for Sub Committees

Disciplinary Committee:

John Ransom Proposed by Ian Scott Brown. Seconded by Alan James.

Steve Blackburn Proposed by Ian Scott Brown Seconded by Alan James.

Tommy Hughes Proposed by Ian Scott Brown Seconded by Alan James.

Cup and Competitions Committee:

Chairman Dave Clarke Proposed by Brian Hurst Seconded by Christine Spivey

Secretary Brian Hurst Proposed by Brian Hurst Seconded by Christine Spivey

Alan Whalley Proposed by Brian Hurst Seconded by Christine Spivey

Tommy Hughes Proposed by Brian Hurst Seconded by Christine Spivey

Helen Duggan Proposed by Brian Hurst Seconded by Christine Spivey

Club and Community Rugby Committee:

Kate Benatta Proposed by Carol Baker Seconded by Ian Scott Brown

Val Blackburn Proposed by Carol Baker Seconded by Ian Scott Brown

Steve Blackburn Proposed by Carol Baker Seconded by Ian Scott Brown

Helen Duggan Proposed by Carol Baker Seconded by Ian Scott Brown

Finance and Funding Committee:

Chris Smail Proposed by Helen Duggan Seconded by Paul Deakin

Stephen Briers Proposed by Helen Duggan Seconded by Paul Deakin

County Schools Union Committee:

Dave Herriman Proposed by Peter Hughes Seconded by Tommy Hughes

Paul Deakin Proposed by Peter Hughes Seconded by Tommy Hughes

Mini Junior(7 -16) Committee

lan Spivey Proposed by Howard Hughes Seconded by Paul Deakin

Alan Bower Proposed by Howard Hughes Seconded by Paul Deakin

Women and Girls Rugby Committee:

Howard Hughes Proposed by Helen Duggan. Seconded by Carol Baker

Mark Downs Proposed by Helen Duggan. Seconded by Carol Baker

6. Correspondence

No correspondence appertaining to the meeting.

Gill Burns had arrived at this point so to close the meeting she presented Brian Stott with the County Badge and Blazer.

7. AOB.

Mark Downs introduced a new Honorary Life Member , this had not been done for a long time , during his time as County Secretary. He then asked Ken Andrews to introduce the recipient.

This year's recipient is Mr David Todd who is a long serving member of Heaton Moor RUFC. In addition to the various roles he has held at his club David has served the County with Distinction and enthusiasm on various sub committees through the years. The award was thoroughly deserved and David accepted the honour with pleasure.

In addition to the above award, Ken asked that it be noted that a vote of thanks was given to Peter Hughes BEM who had stepped down from his role on eth County Schools Union Committee. Peter had served on this committee, including a spell on the English Schools Committee over a period of 40 years and the County were immensely grateful for all that he had done for rugby over the years.

The AGM was then closed at 7.35pm

Attendees

President **Brian Stott** Senior Vice President Carol Baker Vice President Alan James Past President Gill Burns MBE Past President **Ernie Neely**

Past President Peter Hughes BEM Past President Dave Herriman **Past President** Ken Andrews Past President **Rob Briers** Past President **Tommy Hughes** Mark Downs **Hon Secretary** Paul Deakin Hon Treasurer **RFU Representative** Dave Clarke **RFU Representative** Ken Andrews Chairman of Finance Chris Smail **Director of Rugby Howard Hughes** Clive Ennis Broughton Didsbury Toc H C Smail

Eccles RFC Leanne Aspinall Firwood Waterloo T Mc Clure Fleetwood S Doherty **Heaton Moor** D Todd Littleboro' **B** Hurst **Liverpool Collegiate** G Morgan Lostock A James **MADREFS** Clive Ennis Manchester T Harper Oldham R Heptonstall Orrell **G** Winstanley

Warrington L Blacksell West Pk J Bradbury Wigan D Clarke Wythenshaw J McCauley Mini and Junior **I Spivey** Colts League A James Safeguarding C Spivey C Baker

Sedgeley Pk

K Potter

R Berry

League

D Clarke

Finance P Deakin **Individual Members** C Smail **Individual Members** I S Brown

> **Ann Andrews** A Clarke M Herriman